Latest update

Monday, 26 November 2018

SADNEWS: 2017 NLNG Prize winner is dead

SADNEWS: 2017 NLNG Prize winner is dead

The winner of the 2017 NLNG known as Ikeogu Oke is dead.
Ikeogu Oke was said to have died at the National Hospital in Abuja after a protracted illness.

Ikeogu, who had a Bachelor of Art in English and Literary Studies from the University of Calabar and an MA in Literature from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, was also author of Salutes without Guns.

Read also: Ex-President Zimbabwean Robert can no longer walk- President Emmerson

In 2010, Nobel laureate Nadine Gordimer selected Salutes without Guns as Book of the Year for The Times Literary Supplement, while, in 2017, The Heresiad won the Nigeria Prize for Literature, Africa’s biggest literary prize at $100,000.

No comments:

Most News articles reported on LOCAL AFRICAN REALITY are a reflection of what is published in the media. LOCAL AFRICAN REALITY is not in a position to verify the accuracy of daily news articles, however, we ensure that only news articles from credible sources are reflected in this service. Independent opinions which are mailed to us may also be published from time to time at our discretion, however the sources for these independent articles will be clearly stated.

Share your story with us: SMS: +23409067561649, Whatsapp: +2349067561649, Email: localafricanreality@gmail.com or qubesentertainmentmagazine@yahoo.com
Receive Alerts on: Whatsapp: +2349067561649, Twitter: @localafricanr